Twitter’s new Circle feature lets you narrow down your tweets to a select audience

In July last year, Twitter gave us a glimpse of an in-development feature called Trusted Friends that was intended to give users more control over who can see and respond to their tweets. After spending nearly a year in development, the feature is finally going live, albeit with a new name: Twitter Circle.

Twitter on Tuesday announced beta testing of Twitter Circle. This feature allows users to limit the reach and visibility of their tweets to a small group of close friends. This will come in handy in situations when you want to share something personal without attracting public attention. You can add up to 150 people to your Twitter circle and edit the list at any time. Twitter says people won’t know when you add or remove them from your circle.

When you share a Tweet with a circle, it won’t be visible to people outside your circle. Circle members can like and reply to your Tweet, but they cannot retweet. However, nothing stops them from taking a screenshot of the tweet and re-sharing it.

You choose who is in your Twitter circle, and only people you add can reply to and interact with Tweets you share in your circle.

Twitter Circles is a lot like Instagram’s Close Friends, which lets you share stories only with people you’ve added to your close friends list.

Twitter says that the Circle feature is in the testing phase. For now, only select users can create Twitter Circle Tweets. There is no word on when this feature will be available to everyone.

Leave a Reply